Greater London boroughs

See also related article on London Neighborhoods.

Tour books on London tend to focus on historical neighborhoods when they try to explain the city, its layout and history. But for government purposes, Greater London has 33 boroughs (like cities) with separate borough councils. To coordinate activities among all the separate boroughs, especially in matters like cross-town transportation, there is a Greater London Authority including a 25-member Assembly and an executive, the Lord Mayor of London.  The political division of Greater London’s boroughs are listed below, with each listing linked to the official Web site of the borough’s council.

These are political divisions, or separate towns that often have within them several neighborhoods, just like cities we know have separate neighborhoods. For example, Lubbock city has within it the historic “Overton” neighborhood that has the newer Overton Hotel. Many students and faculty live in the “Tech Terrace” neighborhood south of campus.